#ExtraHearts Fundraising Challenge Presented!

Every gamer knows when you need to restore life, you need to find another heart-shaped item, right? Besides, Extra Life was taken. šŸ˜‰

On December 8, 2012 I will be streaming a 24h marathon gaming session on Twitch in order to raise money to pay off a minor error that has become a huge nightmare of eviction: $4950 for just two months of missing paperwork!

Big number isn’t it?

Yea. I have no idea how to raise that much money. However I want to raise much more and do something more useful to the world than just pay rent for a couple of months. The goal is $10,000, with the rest going towards creating a charity.

What I really want to do is find a way to use the power of gaming to help others. I just don’t know how to help others when I need so much help myself.

Gamers are so much more than the media gives us credit for. We can be caring people who recognize that there’s a real person behind the avatar, behind the forum name, behind the twitter account. We can decide to gather together and achieve amazing things when we put our minds to it. Things like Extra Life, Child’s Play, GamesAid, AbleGamers. Online events where gamers rally friends and family to make big things happen.

I want this to turn into something much bigger than just me.

In further posts over the next while I’ll explain the reasoning behind those numbers, a little more about me, and a lot more about this idea.

Challenge presented – challenge accepted?

Leave a Reply

