40 Day Media Fast

Starting November 1 I’m taking 40 days of media fast and meditation, at home in my own apartment. Nothing exotic or special like a cool trip somewhere beautiful, I wish. But I was beginning to feel that gaming especially was taking up too much of my life while not really being satisfying.

So, taking short breaks twice a week to stay in touch with people – because that’s the important thing. The rest of the time? Bored out of my skull and forcing myself to think a lot about what gaming means to me, how I can improve my life, how I can really help others. At least that part’s cool right?

I’ll be on Rift briefly every Saturday, and on twitter 2-3 times a week for short times only. Trying to avoid news, lolcats, amusing videos, and keep any internet use to practical things during this time.

Meditation once a day. Lots of stretching. Cooking real food and paying attention instead of just scarfing down whatever in front of the computer.

Wish me luck!

One thought on “40 Day Media Fast

  1. Pingback: Media Fast FAIL, Poverty and the SWTOR Beta – Day 22 | Leiralei

Leave a Reply

